STARKVILLE — MSU-Meridian instructors Brandy D. Culpepper of Meridian, Chastity N. Galyean of Enterprise and Karey S. Williams of Union were among 11 Mississippi State College of Education graduates recognized as outstanding teacher interns for the fall 2018 semester.

Nominated by their classroom mentor teachers, the award honorees are selected based on their resourcefulness, initiative and effectiveness. Those recognized have demonstrated outstanding teaching performance, professionalism and a high level of commitment to the teaching profession. They completed their teaching internships at various public school systems throughout Mississippi.



Culpepper teaches elementary education, Galyean teaches elementary education and Williams teaches special education.

Rounding out the group of honorees (all fall graduates) and their area of instruction are: Meghan Nicole Ford of Ackerman, kinesiology/physical education; Elizabeth G. Martel of Biloxi, secondary education/biology; Anna E. Ferrell of Jackson, Tennessee, elementary education; Destiny Hux Austin of Mize, elementary education; Madelaine C. Perry of Naples, New York, elementary education;



Catherine Patriquin of Ocean Springs, music education/instrumental; Lark Lindley of Oxford, elementary education; and Allison E. Tutor of Pontotoc, music education/instrumental. HARRISONBURG, Va. — Collinsville, Mississippi, residents Silas Clymer, Abigail Shelly and Allison Shelly were named to the Fall 2018 Dean's List at Eastern Mennonite University.

The Dean's List, compiled at the end of each term, includes degree-seeking students who achieve a semester GPA of at least 3.75 with no withdrawn, incomplete, or failing grades for 12 semester hours of standard grades.

• TROY, Ala. — Hope Boykin of Butler has been named to the Chancellor's List at Troy University for the Fall Semester/Term 2 of the 2018/2019 academic year.

The Chancellor's List honors full-time undergraduate students who are registered for at least 12 semester hours and who earn a grade point average of 4.0.

• TROY, Ala. — Mallarie Mosley of Gilbertown has been named to the Provost's List at Troy University for the Fall Semester/Term 2 of the 2018/2019 academic year.

The Provost's List honors full-time undergraduate students who are registered for at least 12 semester hours and who have a grade point average of at least 3.65.

• TUSCALOOSA, Ala. — University of Alabama student Griffen Gardner of Meridian, Mississippi, will participate in UA's Cooperative Education Program for spring 2019. Gardner will work at CMC Steel.

In the Cooperative Education Program, more than 230 students alternate periods of full-time study with periods of full-time employment. This program offers work related to the academic major or career interests of each student.

While in school, students carry regular course schedules. While on co-op, they work with professionals in their fields who supervise their training and work. At work, co-op students earn competitive salaries and may receive benefit packages in addition to valuable job experience. Participants maintain their full-time student status while at work and have priority registration status each semester through graduation.

• WILLIAMSBURG, Ky. — Tracy Barnhill of Lauderdale, Mississippi, has been named to the President’s List for the fall 2018 semester at the University of the Cumberlands.

To be eligible for the President's List, students must maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of 4.0, receive an "A" grade in UC Engage and be in good academic standing.

• Area residents are among students at the University of Southern Mississippi named to the President’s and Dean’s Lists for fall 2018 semester.

The President’s List includes full-time students who earned a perfect 4.0-grade point average (all As). Dean’s List scholars are those with at least a 3.5-grade point average, but less than a 4.0.

Students recognized from the local area include:

Meridian: President’s List — Marlecia Jakia Grant, Jackson Phra Kercheval, Emily Caitlin Moss,

Anna Marie Saulters, Miles Franklin Wagner and Conner Marie Williams; Dean’s List — Tanashia B. Clark, Christopher Jamison Clay, Nakita Darcell Davis, Royall Bryson Frazier, Benjamin James Goudy, Natalie B. Herlong, Katherine Margaret Kelly, Cayson S. Miles, James Morphis, Meghan Raley Patterson, Chase Nathaniel Perritt, Emily Polk, Virginia A. Pressly, Darcie Sue Smith, Caleb J. Thaggard and TaNika JaNae Williams.

Bailey: Dean’s List — Jacob Eli Brand.

Collinsville: President’s List — Amy Caroline Calhoun, Jamie Chaney, McKenna Grace Dean,

Josie Brooke Gordon and Kamryn Slay Shields; Dean’s List — Colby Dane Ethridge, Madeline Ava Gullette and Hayleigh Breann Harris.

Decatur: President’s List — Sydney Hannah Kennedy; Dean’s List — Megan Elizabeth Sanders.

Hickory: President’s List — Chayvontae Chapman; Dean’s List: Tabitha Maria Walker.

React to this story: