Meridian Star

December 18, 2012

Roundup — Knights cruise past Rebels

from staff reports
The Meridian Star

MERIDIAN —     In their final tune-up for the West Lauderdale Christmas Invitational, the Knights rolled past Scott Central 46-28 on Monday.

    J.D. Williams led West, which improved to 11-2, with 19 points while Vince Wtkins added 11.

    The Knights next play Dec. 27 and 28 in their tournament.

— Jamie Wachter

Sam Dale tournament

bracket released

    The Walter Ethridge/Sam Dale Invitational tournament bracket has been set for Jan. 4-5 at Northeast Lauderdale.

    The tournament, which includes old Sam Dale Conference foes Southeast Lauderdale, Kemper County, Quitman and the host Trojans, will feature first-round matchups of the top-seeded Southeast girls against Northeast and No. 2 Quitman against No. 3 Kemper. The boys field features top-seeded Northeast against Kemper, the defending Class 3A and Sam Dale tournament champions, and Quitman against Southeast.

— Jamie Wachter


Quitman headlines all-Division

5-4A honors

    Division champion Quitman was treated as such when the all-Division 5-4A honors were released as the Panthers took home the awards for the top coaching staff in addition to four individiual honors.

    Leading that charge was quarterback Franklin Jones, who was named the division’s Player of the Year. Also receiving accolades were Chris Berry as the most valuable offensive lineman, Tavares Moore as most valuable defensive back and Cordel Pacley as most valuable linebacker.

    Other individual honorees were Northeast Lauderdale’s Phillip Everett as offensive player of the year, Northeast’s Josh Everett as athlete of the year, West Lauderdale Jarkeith Ruffin as defensive player of the year, and Newton County’s Jamoral Graham as most valuable returner.

    All-district players included Josh Davis, Toriano Howard, Jeremy Sumrall, Lance Lyon, Anthony McGee and Eris Spencer from Quitman; Brandon Windham, Reginald Hopson and Troy Neely from Northeast; Demetrius Gooden and Caleb Weaver from Newton County; and Corey Fox from West.

— Jamie Wachter

Newton County honors players at football banquet

    At its recent football banquet, Newton County honored its players with a handful of awards. Earning accolades were Jacob Edwards (most valuable offensive player), Michael Lee (most valuable offensive back), Rod Smith (most improved offensive back and most improved defensive back), DeAndre Wansley (most outstanding receiver), DeRyan Wansley (most improved receiver), Charles Thorne (most outstanding offensive lineman, academic award and Cougar award), Jacob Mason (most improved offensive lineman), Cale Hollingsworth (most improved offensive player), Ty Alderman (offensive rookie of the year), Caleb Weaver (most valuable defensive player), Charles Wansley (most outstanding defensive lineman), Justin Ethridge (most improved defensive lineman), Demetrius Gooden (most outstanding linebacker), De’Vonte Smith (most improved linebacker), Joe Wansley (most outstanding defensive back), Trent Hudnall (most improved defensive player), Octavious Edison (defensive rookie of the year), Demetre McCleon (most versatile lineman and team captain), Jamoral Graham (most versatile skill player), Bryden Reed (special team award and academic award), Jadarrias Patrick (coaches award) and Brandon Davis (coaches award and team captain).

— Jamie Wachter