Meridian Star


March 29, 2014

ECCC set to host MACJC All-Star Basketball Games

DECATUR — East Central Community College in Decatur is again serving as host site for the annual MACJC (Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges) All-Star Basketball Games.

This year's event is set for Friday, April 11. The women's contest begins at 5 p.m. and will be followed by the men's matchup at the Brackeen-Wood Physical Education Building.

Members of the South Division women's squad are Samara Dingiswayo, Mississippi Gulf Coast; Rajee McDonald, Hinds; Ashley Minor, Copiah-Lincoln; Tannijha Hughes, East Central; Katrina Littlepage and April Levy, both of Southwest; Kristin Sampson and Miaya Crowder, both of Meridian; Kaylan Hughes and Latisha McCullum, both of Jones County; and Shanta' Echols and Kalisha Washington, both of Pearl River.

Alternates are Deantra Darjean of Pearl River, Hellanisa Young of Mississippi Gulf Coast and Jessica Wilson of Copiah-Lincoln.

Brent Harris of Southwest will serve as head coach. South Division men's team includes Michael Vardaman, Copiah-Lincoln; Terrance Mujahid and Jacques Johnson, both of East Central; Dela Mayers, Hinds; Johnny Zuppardo, Jones County; Twymond Howard and Deione Weeks, both of Southwest; Corey Brister, Meridian; and Roger Woods, Chris Bilbo and Rashad Perkins, all of Mississippi Gulf Coast.*

Alternates are Devontai Foye of Pearl River, and Leo Garrett and Darris McClendon, both of Jones County.

Casey Carter of Southwest will serve as head coach.

Members of the North Division women's team are Ashanti Spencer and Krystal Nailer, both of Mississippi Delta; Carshava Sutton and Halle Knowles, both of Northwest; Lytia Coleman and Latoya Collins, both of Itawamba; Krystal Pearson, Coahoma; Antionette Riddle, Northeast; and Takera Mitchell, Kyra Gulledge, Wilma Davis and Charmane Tims, all of East Mississippi.

Don Edwards of Northwest will serve as head coach.

North Division men's squad includes Xavier Graves, Coahoma; Tamarico Wilson, Holmes; Tristan Moore, Northwest; Alex Anderson, Jonthan McGee and Tory Rice, all of Itawamba; Johnny Rucker and Marquarius Boddie, both of Mississippi Delta; Cameron Shorty, Northeast; and Davon "Chuck" Ester, Nick Giles and Justin Kinsey, all of East Mississippi.*

Alternates are Rashon Coleman of Northwest and Billy Jackson of Coahoma.

Text Only
AP Video
Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter

Local Sports