Meridian Star

March 30, 2013

X Factor finalists to compete at MSU Riley Center

Special to The Star
The Meridian Star

MERIDIAN — Fox 30’s X Factor Audition Pass Contest finalists have been chosen and will perform for the chance of a lifetime on Thursday, April 4th at the MSU Riley Center. Four contestants, one from each category, will win an Audition Pass for a guaranteed audition in front of the X Factor producers in New Orleans on April 14th.

    “We had a tough time choosing this year’s finalists,” stated Station Owner, Mike Reed. “and the judges will have a difficult task in choosing the winner. That is where the audience comes into play – the audience essentially becomes another judge.”

    The finalists to compete at the MSU Riley Center are:  

    • Female 12-29: Alexes Aiken, Deidre Tubby, Holly Brand and Madeline Alston

    • Male 12-29: Jon Hagan, Billy Mauldin, Dustin Hinton and Marquette Magee

    • Adults 30 plus: Eric Bloxson, Brent Bond, Erin Scot and Lori Segovia

    • Duo/Group: Cecilee & Jonathan, Stephanie & Lerika and MMP

    Tickets to see the competition are free, but you must have a ticket to enter the MSU Riley Center. Tickets may be picked up at Little Acre, Piggly Wiggly of Collinsville, Mathis Produce and The Liberty Shop. Doors will open at 5:30 p.m. The performance will begin at 6 p.m.

    The X Factor is an exciting vocal competition airing this fall on FOX, according to a press release. In a departure from other singing competitions, the first time a contestant auditions for the judges, they will do so in front of an audience of thousands – raising the stakes and increasing the pressure to impress not only the judges, but also a potential legion of fans.  

    "This will be the ultimate test to prove they have the vocal ability, charisma and stage presence that it takes to become a global superstar and win an unprecedented $5 million recording contract with Syco/Sony Music," the press release states.

    The X Factor is produced by Syco Television and Fremantle Media North America. Simon Cowell, Rob Wade and Siobhan Greene are executive producers for Syco Television.  Cecile Frot-Coutaz, Richard Holloway and Andrew Llinares serve as executive producers for Fremantle Media North America.  

     For complete rules, restrictions and information about FOX 30’s X Factor Audition Pass Contest go to