Meridian Star

March 24, 2013


The Meridian Star

MERIDIAN —     Lauderdale County MHV Council's Annual Awards Program was held at Union Station in downtown Meridian.

    The annual event recognizes outstanding achievements accomplished by members in the previous year. The awards were presented by Patty Swearington, council coordinator.

    The categories included the following winners:

    • Christmas Tree Ornament Contest: Donna Lankford, Katie Daniels, Meredith Donald, Eloise Ethridge and Barbara Stinson.

    • Creative Writing Contest: Erthie Young, Meredith Donald, Robin Doerner and Virginia White.

    • Cultural Arts Contest: Judy Hardwell, Donna Lankford, Catherine Daniels, Erthie Young, Robert Hughs, Barbara Stinson, Marie Luchovich, Caroline Wilson and Darwell Harwell.

    • Essay Contest: Erthie Young and Meredith Donald.

     Individual awards were presented by Wayne Porter, area extension horticulture agent. The awards recognized members who participated in various projects during 2012. Members were awarded in the areas of the Arts and Crafts Fair held at the Cochran Center, Dairy Foods Contest, County and Area Fashion Revue and several unlisted activities.

    Awards presented were: Secretary’s Record Book, Savoy Club; Outstanding Homemakers Club Award, Obadiah Club; 2012 Outstanding Homemaker Volunteer Award, Lou Ella Limerick.

    Members and visitors were welcomed to the Jan. 23, 2013, meeting by MHV President Judy Harwell. Meredith Donald, MHV Council vice president, presented the invocation "Blessings for the New Year." Lou Limerick, MHV Council treasurer, led the Pledge of Allegiance.

    The council's 2013 officers were installed and are: Meredith Donald, president; Robin Doerner, vice president; Rellie Williams, secretary; Lou Limerick, treasurer; Donna Lankford, reporter; and Eloise Ethridge, photographer. The ceremony was based on ingredients in bread, and each officer was given a loaf of bread, plus one ingredient for making a complete loaf of bread.

    The meeting began at 11:30 a.m. with a catered meal provided by Murphy’s Depot Deli in Union Station.

    The meeting adjourned with comments from newly installed president, Meredith Donald. The collect was led by Rellie Williams, council secretary.

• Submitted by Donna Lankford, reporter.