Meridian Star

July 10, 2013

Excellence in Education

Special to The Star
Associated Press

MERIDIAN —     • MAYHEW – Kelly Cantrell has been recognized as the Golden Triangle Development Link’s 2013 EMCC Post-Secondary Educator of the Year. The award came on the heels of Cantrell receiving the William Winter Faculty Scholar Award from the Mississippi Humanities Council.

    Cantrell has taught multiple history classes at the college’s Golden Triangle campus since 2007, A Biloxi native, she also garnered a Mississippi Humanities Council Teacher Award in 2009.

    • DECATUR – Tina Sanders of Little Rock was recently selected coordinator/choreographer for the East Central Community College Centralettes, the dance line for the Wall ‘O Sound Marching Band, announced Hunter Corhern, director of bands.

    Sanders previously served as dance teacher at Beverly’s School of Dance in Brandon and Pearl. She is also a former professional dancer, ballroom dancer and gymnastics coach.

    A Pennsylvania native, Sanders is a 2000 honors graduate of Downingtown (PA) Area High School.

    She is married to ECCC alumnus and former Collegians member Josh Sanders. They have a daughter, Ava Sanders.

    OXFORD – The following University of Mississippi students from Meridian and surrounding areas were among 3,541 spring semester and summer semester candidates for degrees:


    • Meridian: Randall Holly Butler, doctor of pharmacy; Richard Andrew Moffett, doctor of pharmacy; Jamey Alexander Sharman, bachelor of arts in journalism; Thomas Duncan Chalk, bachelor of arts; Merry Grace Coffin, bachelor of arts; William Douglas Fort, bachelor of arts; Henry Ferrell Hooper, bachelor of arts; Donald Ray Naylor, bachelor of arts; Taylor Rae Thompson, bachelor of arts; Meredith Leigh Wilson, bachelor of arts; Jacqueline Rose Hawn, master of education; Ashley Elizabeth Jolly, master of accountancy; Jon Austin McCormick, master of accountancy; Allison Leigh Lucovich, bachelor of science; Sunny Caliste Rush, bachelor of science in exercise science; Chad William Bounds, bachelor of business administration; Taylor Ann Sikes, bachelor of arts in education; James Steven Stewart, bachelor of science in mechanical engineering; Emily Teresa` Roland, bachelor of arts in journalism; William Justin Scarbrough, doctor of pharmacy; Ashley La'Shay Davis, bachelor of science; Carson Avery Cole Blanks, bachelor of business administration; Amber Nicole Goodwin, bachelor of business administration

    Bailey: Jacob Blake Daniels, bachelor of science in exercise science; Marion: Mary Lela Valentine, bachelor of arts; Brandon Alexander Galistel, bachelor of arts in education

    Clarke County: Lee Jefferson McCraney, bachelor of science in exercise science; Gerald Waltman III, bachelor of accountancy; Anna Marie Dobbins, doctor of pharmacy

    Neshoba County: Samuel Berton McKay, bachelor of arts; Sidney Jackson Williams, bachelor of arts in journalism; Reagan Lynn Joyner, juris doctor; Brittany Anna White, juris doctor; Betsy Renee Fulton, doctor of pharmacy; Jonathan Thomas Fulton, doctor of pharmacy; Autumn Leigh Gurry, doctor of pharmacy


    Meridian: Kaley Brooke Hull, bachelor of science in pharmaceutical sciences; Robert Arrington Coffin, bachelor of accountancy; Ellis John Mitchell, bachelor of accountancy; Katherine Grace Davis, bachelor of science; William Thornton Fuchs, bachelor of science in exercise science

    Bailey: Hallie Laine Dyess, bachelor of science; Collinsville: Jessica Joy Rose, master of education

    Neshoba County: George Taylor McClenahan, bachelor of arts; Brandi Mae Mathes, bachelor of science in pharmaceutical sciences; Cody Tawater, bachelor of science in pharmaceutical sciences

    • RAYMOND – Hinds Community College graduated almost 900 students in the two annual spring ceremonies that took place on the Raymond Campus in May. The following local and area residents were among those graduates: Ryan Burke of Toomsuba, technical certificate; Star Erguhart of Lake, associate in applied sciences; Sherlynn Farve of Philadelphia, associate in arts; Shaniqua Stevens of Macon, associate in arts.

    • RAYMOND –The Hinds Community College Deans' Scholars have been named for the 2013 spring semester. Deans' Scholars are those students with a cumulative 3.5 to 3.9 grade point average.

    Local and area residents included in the spring 2013 Deans' Scholars are: Ryan Burke of Toomsuba, Francine Gray of Lake, Shaniqua Stevens of Macon and Steven Watkins of Collinsville

    • JACKSON – Joel Mabry of Collinsville is one of 11 Millsaps College seniors recently named members of Phi Beta Kappa.

    Millsaps was the first college in Mississippi to be granted a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious academic honor society.