Meridian Star

October 2, 2013

MCC academic honor society recognizes leaders, installs new members

Special to The Star
The Meridian Star

MERIDIAN —     Forty-three MCC students were inducted in the Nu Upsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) during a ceremony held in the College’s McCain Theater.

     PTK is an international academic honor society for community and junior college students. The organization promotes leadership, scholarship, service and fellowship. Membership is open to any student who has earned 12 semester hours and has a grade point average of 3.5 or better on a 4.0 scale.

     During the ceremony, alumna Betsy Mitchell Brewer, who is a speech and language pathologist with the Lauderdale County Schools, told the members to be involved with the program.

    “You’ll reap more benefits than you can imagine,” Brewer said. She also urged them to be a leader and be confident. Brewer served as chapter president of PTK when she was a student at MCC.

     MCC President Dr. Scott Elliott also congratulated the students.

    “Keep up the good work. It was an honor to shake your hands and I look forward to shaking your hands when you get that first college degree,” Elliott said.

     New inductees included Hailey Nicole Barrett, Katherine Lynn Belcher, Bailey Elizabeth Bryan, Joshua D. Carraway, T’Keyah L. Clark, Jessie L. Foster, Edward Charles Frey, Nathaniel James Gibson, Steven H. Giles, Kenya B. Hawkins, Tammy Gail Hicks, Jasmine LaShun Holmes, Maria Annita Hoskins, Chesla Ann Jarman, Phillip C. Jenkins, Cameron Glynn Jolly, Cynthia W. Killen, Stephanie Michelle Lunsford, Juli M. Mabry, Agnes Magnolia McDonald, Robin E. McNeil, Kayla Lee Monsour, Robert Crawford Moore, Kristyn Renne Pack, Vincent Payne, Dennis Michael Rivera, Kristen Michelle Roberts, Corey Brent Robinette, Cedric Jarrod Ruffin, Sarai Bailey Saulters, Deobrah Nicole Smith, Shaunley Tyrone Smith, Julia K. Springer, Paphanij Stegal, Anna Camille Taylor, Betty Michelle Taylor, Courtney Marie taylor, Catherine Marie Townsend, Tracey D. Vige, Miller Leigh Watkins, Danielle Elise Williams, Heather Lynn Wood and Paul Russell Thomas Woodruff.