Meridian Star

June 5, 2013

Seven MCC nursing students awarded ARMC scholarships

Special to The Star
The Meridian Star

MERIDIAN —     Anderson Regional Medical Center recently awarded seven scholarships to Meridian Community College nursing students. This marks the 25th year the hospital has provided a helping hand to area nursing students. 

    The scholarship recipients are outstanding nursing students who receive the honor based on scholastic ability, nursing excellence, the recommendation of Meridian Community College faculty, an application and a written essay on why they chose nursing as a career.

     Scholarships and recipients are as follows:

Dr. Jeff Anderson


    Dr. Jeff Anderson founded Anderson Infirmary in 1928. At that time, the hospital was staffed by three physicians, a handful of nurses and room to accommodate 30 patients. Dr. Anderson’s vision for the future, and his commitment to providing quality medical care for the residents in east central Mississippi and west central Alabama, are the foundation of what has now grown to be Anderson Regional Medical Center, a 400-bed medical center with more than 160 physicians representing more than 38 specialties.

    The scholarship was created in 2004 to honor Dr. Anderson. 2013 Recipient: Danielle Toomey


Dr. William J. Anderson Jr. Scholarship

    Dr. Anderson was the son of Dr. Jeff Anderson, founder of the hospital. Dr. Anderson served as a general surgeon at Jeff Anderson Regional Medical Center. He passed in 1987.      The scholarship was created in 1988 to honor the many accomplishments of Dr. Anderson.

2013 Recipient: Jessica Leach


Dr. W.J. Anderson III Scholarship

    Dr. Anderson was the son of Dr. William J. Anderson and the grandson of hospital founder Dr. Jeff Anderson.  Dr. Anderson was a general surgeon from 1962 until his retirement in 1998.  He served as president and chairman of the board of directors at Anderson Regional Medical Center until his death in October, 2002.  

    The scholarship was created in 2003 to honor Dr. Anderson’s visionary leadership. 2013 Recipient: Katy Cottles


William J. Gunn, Esquire Scholarship

    Mr. Gunn began his service to Anderson Regional Medical Center in 1965 as secretary to the board of directors and general counsel for the hospital. In 1967, he became a member of the board of directors and continued his faithful service until his death in August 2001. 

    The scholarship was created in 2002 to honor Gunn’s service to the hospital. 2013 Recipient: Charmain Walker


Dr. Jefferson F. Hollingsworth Scholarship

    Dr. Hollingsworth was the grandson of Dr. Jeff Anderson. Dr. Hollingsworth was a cardiovascular surgeon in Jackson and was instrumental in getting the cardiac catheterization program started in Meridian. Dr. Hollingsworth passed in 1986.  

    The scholarship was created in 1988 to honor Dr. Hollingsworth. 2013 Recipient: Benjamin Snyder


Reuben S. Johnson Jr. Scholarship

    Reuben S. Johnson began his 47-year service to Anderson Regional Medical Center in 1947. Johnson was president and chairman of the board for 38 years, and was instrumental in the successful transformation of the hospital from a small infirmary to what became Anderson Regional Medical Center. Johnson also served as the internal management consultant from 1976 until his death in 1994. 

    The scholarship was created in 2007 to honor the many accomplishments of Johnson. 2013 Recipient: Auburn Berry


Anderson Board of Directors Scholarship

    The board of directors works behind the scenes to ensure that Dr. Jeff Anderson’s vision, to give quality health care to the people of our region, is carried out. Each member brings expertise in different areas that enhance the quality of care given to patients. These individuals work tirelessly and with very little recognition for their labor.

    The scholarship was created in 2012 to recognize the valuable contributions of each board member. 2013 Recipient: Selena Kangas