Meridian Star


May 1, 2013

EMCC Phi Theta Kappa chapters earn honors, induct new members

MERIDIAN —     East Mississippi Community College has been awarded Five Star status, once again, by the nationwide academic honor society for community colleges.

    At the Phi Theta Kappa Regional Hallmark Awards for the Mississippi/Louisiana region, held at Northeast Mississippi Community College, EMCC’s Scooba chapter was awarded Five Star Chapter status based on the number and type of activities undertaken by the chapter.

    “These students are to be commended for their efforts in the classroom, on campus and in their communities,” said Scooba campus PTK advisor Janet Briggs, who received the Bennie Warren Distinguished Advisor Award during the regional conference. “They’re our top academic representatives, but also our campus leaders. And they’ll be our leaders of tomorrow in their respective communities.”

    Twenty-two of the 48 chapters in the PTK’s Mississippi/Louisiana region earned Five Star status for 2013.

    In addition to the Five Star ranking, the Scooba chapter was also recognized as a Top Five Chapter for the College Project, Top Ten Chapter for the Honors Study Topic, Top Ten Most Distinguished Chapter and student Chance Broom of Columbia was named to the Order of the Golden Key.

To maintain its Five Star status, the Scooba PTK must maintain its event schedule and student participation. The EMCC Golden Triangle campus chapter of PTK earned One Star status at the regional conference following its first year of participation in PTK’s Five Star Chapter Development Plan.

Students from the Golden Triangle and Scooba campuses inducted this spring into PTK include:

    Scooba campus: Ben Adams (Carthage); William Allen (Hattiesburg); Audrey Ainsworth Anselmo (Meridian); Dakota Aust (DeKalb); Kayla Barnett (Philadelphia); James Bell (Caledonia); Mariah Bohl (Meridian); Logan Bozeman (Bay St.Louis); Ashley Bradley (Emelle, Ala.); Addison Cherry (Louisville); Rachel Clay (DeKalb); Tyler Comans (Vicksburg); Cameron Cooksey (Vicksburg); Morgan Corder (Starkville); Michael Costa (Toomsuba); Corey Dawkins (Brooksville); Steven Eubanks (Porterville); Meri Morgan Fortune (Batesville); Dane Guadagno (Caledonia) Montoya Gunn (Meridian); Carlee Gurley (Caledonia); Lauren Hackney (Cleveland); Sarah Harris (Meridian); Allison Hauer (Bude); Laura Hull (DeKalb); Rebecca Hyde (Columbus); Angel Johnson (Vossburg); Jacquez Johnson (Starkville); Hayden Lewis (Greenville); Daniel Lott (Meridian); Charles Maddox (Bruce); Jessica McDade (DeKalb); Stella McMahon (Meridian); Murry Miller (Epes, Ala.); Thomas Miller (Meridian); Tyler Odom (Hattiesburg); Leslie Pevey (DeKalb); Reagen Pierce (Union); Amie Pinter (Union); Dontreal Pruitt (Laurel); Anthony Reed (Panola, Ala.); Megan Reynolds (Scooba); Susan Reynolds (Scooba); Morgan Rhodes (Brandon); Abby Roberts (Meridian); Payton Rogers (Florence); Robert Sillimon Jr. (Meridian); Heath Skelton (Clinton); Christopher Standland (Hattiesburg); Katherine Timmons (Philadelphia); Kaitlyn Warren (Louisville); Jagradi Webster (Meridian); Taylor Winstead (Philadelphia)

    Golden Triangle campus: Austin Andrews (Columbus); Pearman Ashley (Louisville); Brandi Brantley (Columbus); Kali Burney (Weir); Erica Chancey (Columbus); Amber Dean (Eupora); Kayla Decker (Brandon); Brianna Deweese (Philadelphia); Daniel Dunaway (Natchez); Lemuel Dunn (Mathiston); Samantha Ellzey (Starkville); Benjamin Elmore (Starkville); Lee Ferguson (West Point); Morgan Franks (Columbus); Evan Gregory (Sturgis); Kayla Guest (Columbus); Deseandrick Guyton (Millport, Ala.); Devin Harper (Starkville); Emily Hester (Columbus); Alana Higginbotham (Cedar Bluff); Amanda Hudson (Steens); Kenneth Hulsey (Mathiston); Darnell Jones (West Point); Sayonara Jones (Columbus); Shelby Knox (Starkville); George Lott (West Point); Lori Luther (Starkville); Sierra McKnight (Ackerman); Rachel Moore (Starkville); Robert Moorhead (Starkville); Sarah Pepper (Canton); John Pittman (Olive Branch); Thomas Quinn (Columbus); Will Quinn (Louisville); Malikah Quinn (West Point); Culley Red (Okolona); Katherine Roberts (Brandon); Rebecca Sepaugh (Starkville); Railey Stewart (Starkville); Dalvin Tate (Starkville); Brittany Thomas (West Point); Jessica Thompson (Hamilton); Macy Tilley (Ethelsville, Ala.); Kailan White (Madison); Joel Whitney (Philadelphia); Robert Wylie (Hernando); Lester Young (Aberdeen)

Text Only
Biz Marquee
New Today

A majority of House members approved a motion to sue President Obama for exceeding his constitutional boundaries. The lawsuit will focus on the presidents overhaul of health care. Do you think the lawsuit is warranted?

     View Results
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
AP Video
Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide