Meridian Star

May 15, 2013

Excellence in education: Wednesday, May 15, 2013

The Meridian Star

MERIDIAN —     • East Central Community College sophomores Andrew Hanna of Union and Claire Griffin of Decatur were recently named on the 2013 All-Mississippi Academic Team and were recognized with other award-winners during special events held in Jackson.

    The outstanding students were recognized at the State Capitol by the Mississippi Legislature and during a luncheon held at the Jackson Convention Complex. State Senator Terry C. Burton of Newton served as master of ceremonies.

    The All-Mississippi Academic Team recognizes scholarly achievements and leadership accomplishments of students enrolled in the state’s two-year colleges.

Hanna was one of 15 students named to the First Team and will receive a $1,000 scholarship. Recipients of the prestigious honor compete for placement on the national All-USA Community College Academic Team.

    Hanna, a President’s List Scholar with a perfect 4.0 grade point average, will graduate in May from ECCC and plans to major in chemistry at Mississippi State University.

    He was recently selected ECCC’s HEADWAE Student of the Year and was honored with other students and college instructors at the State Capitol this year.

and private member institutions of the Mississippi Association of Colleges.    Hanna's other honors at EC include the Frank Edwin and Nena Holt Leatherwood Biology Award, Frank M. Cross Chemistry Award and Secondary Education Award. He was also named to Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges.

    He also holds various positions of leadership in several campus organizations: vice president for leadership of Theta Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges; co-president of the Baptist Student Union and Warrior Corps; secretary of the President’s Council; member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes having served as vice president his freshman year; and membership in the Environmental Club.

    Hanna’s campus activities also includes participation in athletics. He is a two-year member of the Warrior tennis team and was on the men’s basketball squad his freshman season.

    He is a 2011 honors graduate of Newton County Academy, where he was valedictorian and chosen for the Hall of Fame. He was also selected STAR Student and was named to the WTOK-TV All Scholastic Sports Team. Other honors include selection as a Scholar Athlete and Citizenship Award recipient, in addition to numerous subject awards.

    His parents are Rusty and Lanette Hanna of Union.

    Griffin was named to the All-Mississippi Academic Second Team.

    A President’s List scholar, Griffin will graduate from ECCC in May. She plans to return to ECCC in the fall and continue her education with a concentration in music.

    She has also received numerous honors while at EC.

    She currently serves as president of Theta Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges; sophomore class president; has served two years as co-president of the Warrior Corps, a select group of students who assist in recruiting and provide assistance for various College events and activities; and has served the past two years as assistant editor of The Wo-He-Lo yearbook staff.

    She is also a member of the Ac’cents Show Choir, Concert Choir, Collegians, Diamond Darlings, Environmental Club, Art Club, Baptist Student Union, Fellowship of Christian Athletes and President’s Council and is an award-winning cartoonist on The Tom-Tom campus newspaper staff. She received second-place honors for her cartoons in the Mississippi Press Association’s Better Newspaper Contest in the Community and Junior College Division for two consecutive years.

She was recently selected to Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges.

    Griffin is a member of committees, including the Recruiting/Retention Task Force and Graphics Design Committee,

    She is a recipient of numerous scholarships, including ACT, Progressive Club, Rotary Club, Ann Burkes Phi Theta Kappa, MTAG, Military VA, The Tom-Tom, Ac’cents, Concert Choir and Collegians awards.

    She is a 2011 honors graduate of Newton County High School, where she received several honors and was involved in numerous activities.

    The All-Mississippi Academic Team program is coordinated by The Clarion-Ledger, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges and the Mississippi Community College Board.

    Students named to the All-Mississippi Academic Team compete for placement on the national All-USA Community College Academic Team, sponsored by Follett Higher Education Group, presented by USA Today and additional support provided by the American Association of Community Colleges and Phi Theta Kappa.

    Twenty students named to the national All-USA Academic Team will be featured in the April 23 issue of USA Today and each student will receive a $2,500 scholarship.

    This year, more than 1,800 nominations were received for the All-USA Community College Academic Team competition.

Mississippi ranks in the top six states in the nation having students named to the All-USA Community College Academic Team.