Meridian Star


October 17, 2012

MCC academic honor society taps 47 for membership

MERIDIAN —     With words of encouragement from Meridian Community College President Dr. Scott Elliott, newly installed members of Meridian Community College’s academic honor society were saluted for their scholarship, leadership, fellowship and service.

     Nu Upsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international academic honor society for community and junior colleges, inducted 47 students into the fraternity during ceremonies held in MCC’s McCain Theater.

     Phi Theta Kappa’s mission is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. Membership is open to any student who has earned 12 semester hours and has a grade point average of a 3.5 or better on a 4.0 scale.

     The College’s chapter, Nu Upsilon, has been associated with the international academic honor society of Phi Theta Kappa since 1965.

     Fall 2012 inductees were: JaunDae L. Allen of Quitman; Cliff M. Allred of Meridian; Andrea C. Alonso of Meridian; Brittnie N. Bell of Meridian; Leslie E. Benson of Horn Lake; Kristine A. Bielefeld of Meridian;Justin D. Blanks of Lauderdale; Joni M. Bryant of Enterprise; Pamela J. Bunyard of Meridian; Laura E. Carney of Collinsville; Ericka G. Castillo of Meridian; Cecilee R. Crain of Meridian; Dana M. Crawford of Meridian; Samuel A. Derusha of Toomsuba; Thomas S. Frank of Meridian; Ashley O. Garrett of Meridian; Tara-Beth Hall of Dennis; Veronica L. Hill of Meridian; Latisha Hoskin of Louisville; Donna Jaison of Meridian; Deidre L. Johnson of Meridian; Sara E. Kelly of Meridian; Robert S. Lummus of Meridian; Rosalind M. Matteson of Meridian; Sherri A. McClure of Collinsville; Kasie D. McInnis of Meridian; Conner M. McKee of Starkville; Anthony R. McOlgan of Meridian; Neelan M. Mian of Philadelphia; Janice M. Middleton of Laurel; Ashleigh C. Minckler of Suffolk; Summer M. Moorehead of Meridian; Grenetta S. Pace of Waynesboro; Haley N. Parker of Meridian; Adrian Perry of Meridian; Ashlyn A. Pope of Collinsville; Laturina D. Silliman of Lauderdale; Candace B. Sizemore of Meridian; Willard B. Slocum of Meridian; Benjamin C. Snyder of Marion; Cathanna L. Steiner of Meridian; Valerie Swift of Meridian; Una E. Swindle of Louisville; Justina R. Thomas of Philadelphia; Maurice A. Turner of Jackson; Dylan L. Vreeland of Enterprise; James R. Wilkerson of Enterprise; and Shar’Lee K. Williams of Meridian.

     Tapped as new officers were Hailey Thomas, president; Emily Sollie, vice president of leadership/scholarship; Madison Mitchell, vice president of service; Winnie Jones, vice president of fellowship; Elosia DeLeon, secretary; Stephanie Grayson, historian; Victoria Stewart, reporter/publicity; and Leslie Odom, Mississippi/Louisiana regional vice president.

Text Only
Biz Marquee
New Today

Are you for or against Common Core — which is mandated by the state — being taught in Mississippi schools?

     View Results
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
AP Video
Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide