Meridian Star


June 26, 2013


MERIDIAN —     • OXFORD – The following University of Mississippi students are listed on the Chancellor’s Honor Roll for the spring 2013 semester.

    For the honor, a grade-point average of from 3.75 through 4.0 is required of full-time students carrying at least 12 semester hours.

    Lauderdale County: Kaley Brooke Hull; Richard Andrew Moffett; Nicole Danielle Boyd; Henry Ian Davis; William Craig Dungan; William Douglas Fort; Mary Paige Griffin; Matthew Todd Kiefer; Mary Lawrence Love; Allison Leigh Lucovich; Alexandra Anne Phillips; Emily Teresa` Roland; William Justin Scarbrough; Taylor Ann Sikes; Susannah Rose Slimp; Taylor Rae Thompson; Spencer Van Zandt; Samra Blake Ward; Meredith Leigh Wilson; Amber Mechelle James; William Redmond Abbey; Elijah Edward Allen; Anne Marie Delee; David Scott May; Brandon Alexander Galistel

    Neshoba County: Samira Nadia Abunemeh; Bethany Rose Kinney; Mollie Clair McKay; Abby Margaret Posey; Cody Tawater; Bree Noelle Wiginton; Adam G. Brooks; Ryan Keith Ezelle; Grace Elaine McMahen; Shelby Hannah Smith; Nicholas Warrick

    Clarke County: Colton Jordan Herrington and Gerald Waltman III.

    The following University of Mississippi students are listed on the Dean’s Honor Roll for the spring 2013 semester.

    For the honor, a grade-point average of from 3.50 through 3.74 is required of full-time students carrying at least 12 semester hours.

    Lauderdale County: Sunny Caliste Rush; Mary Grace Cady; Sara Elizabeth Dungan; James Steven Stewart; Julie Diana Covington; Bailey Elizabeth Allen; Ashley La'Shay Davis; Loagan Mackenzie Ortlepp

    Neshoba County: Morgan Elizabeth Deweese; Jon Hillman; Jonathan Thomas Fulton; Ouida Lia  Meruvia; Rachel Danielle Britton; Zachary Mason Harper; Mariam Danielle Abunemeh; Joshua Lamon Smith; Sadie Lillian Shields; Jennifer Leigh McNair

    Clarke County: Anna Marie Dobbins

    • RAYMOND – Four area students were among 900 Hinds Community College graduates in two annual spring ceremonies that took place on the Raymond Campus in May. The college granted associate in arts degrees, associate in applied science degrees, career certificates, technical certificates and vocational certificates.

    Among those graduating were: Ryan Burke of Toomsuba, technical certificate; Star Erguhart of Lake, associate in applied science degree; Sherlynn Farve of Philadelphia, associate in arts degree; and Shaniqua Stevens of Macon, associate in arts degree.

    • DECATUR – Deanna Bankston Rush of Union was recently selected Director of Admissions and Records at East Central Community College.    

    Rush, who began her new duties on June 1, was previously employed by the Union Public School District and served as guidance counselor since 2006. She was an English instructor from 2001-2006. She began her education career as an English instructor for the Clinton Public School District, serving from 2000-2001.

    Rush received several honors while employed at Union High School, including District Staff Person of the Year in 2011 and STAR Teacher in 2006.

    She is a member of First Baptist Church of Union, where she serves as church clerk and Youth Girls’ Sunday School teacher.

    She is also a member of Chi Sigma Iota and is a National Board Certified Counselor. 

    Rush is a 1996 honors graduate of Union High School, where she received various honors, including being named Salutatorian and a member of the UHS Hall of Fame. She continued her education at ECCC, where she earned a 4.0 grade point average and received an associate of arts degree in 1998. She was a recipient of several honors at EC, including her selection to the 1998 ECCC Hall of Fame.

    She was a summa cum laude graduate at Mississippi State University, where she also maintained a 4.0 grade point average and received a bachelor of science degree in secondary education – English in May 2000. She received a master of science degree in counselor education from MSU in May 2005, again achieving a 4.0 GPA.

    While at MSU, Rush was recognized as a Distinguished President’s Scholar.

    She is married to Hugh Rush and they have three children: Chandler, eleven; Bankston, eight; and Luke, two.

    Rush is the daughter of Kenny Joe and Lisa Bankston of Union.

Text Only
Biz Marquee
New Today

Do you think the city of Meridian should require developers of new subdivisions to build sidewalks

     View Results
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide