Meridian Star

November 20, 2013

Excellence in education: Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013

The Meridian Star

MERIDIAN —     • Northeast Lauderdale School student Elizabeth Spahr has been named a Commended Student in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program. A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, has been presented to Elizabeth by Northeast Principal Rob Calcote.

    About 34,0000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2014 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the Top 5 percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2014 competition by taking the 2014 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

    • NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Two Lauderdale County students are among 255 scholars to receive scholarships through the Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee.

    Kierra K. Boyd and Emily F. Ware each received awards from The Buster Pool Memorial Scholarship Fund. Boyd was awarded the scholarship to attend Meridian Community College and Ware to attend Mississippi State University.

    Pool died unexpectedly of a heart attack in April of 1999 when he was 56. He had an innate ability to laugh through life's challenges, and both he and his infectious sense of humor were beloved by all who knew him. As a lasting legacy to Buster's memory, his widow, Babs Weaver Pool, created this scholarship to benefit graduating seniors of his alma mater, Meridian High School in his hometown of Meridian, Miss.

    The Community Foundation, a charitable organization connecting generosity with need, awards scholarships to students pursuing post-secondary education at accredited schools throughout the United States. This year, a total of $423,770 is being awarded to students from more than 70 scholarship funds within The Community Foundation.

    Community Foundation scholarships, established by individuals, companies and civic groups, will assist students with tuition and other school-related expenses. Each year, The Community Foundation scholarship committee reviews applications on behalf of donors who entrust The Foundation with administering the annual awards. This year, The Foundation received 647 applications.

    • OXFORD – The following sophomores from Meridian and surrounding areas attending the University of Mississippi earned membership in the university's Phi Eta Sigma national honor society: Neel Ramesh Patel, Scotlynn Taylor Farmer, Susannah Rose Slimp and Yvonne Paula Zuchowski, all of Meridian; Joseph Wayne Bates, Anne Marie Delee and Savannah Marie Stockton, all of Collinsville; Brittany Allyson Harper of Pachuta; and Mariam Danielle Abunemeh and Hank Dylan Thomas, both of Philadelphia.

    Membership is based on their academic performance as freshmen. Requirements include a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.5 at the end of their first year, provided they have carried a normal academic load toward a bachelor's degree and rank in the upper 20 percent of their class.

    • OXFORD – The following University of Mississippi freshmen have been recognized for their leadership potential with membership in the Chancellor’s Leadership Class: Ashton Hollingsworth, Clarkdale Attendance Center, exercise science; Rachel May, West Lauderdale High School, pharmaceutical sciences; and Katelin Davis, Quitman High School, journalism.

    To become members of the class, entering freshmen demonstrating strong leadership skills are nominated by an official at their high school and selected by a university committee. They receive a $1,000 scholarship and meet for an hour each week with professionals from different fields, who share with them information about their leadership styles and career paths.

    Each year, the students are guests at several social functions hosted by the chancellor, and they take a field trip to Jackson, where they tour the Capitol and visit with state leaders.